Henry B. Davis Award

The Henry B. Davis Award, named after the American Society of Sanitary Engineering’s founding president, may be awarded at each Annual Meeting, subject to the approval of the ASSE Board, from the nomination of the Awards Committee. Only one (1) member who has contributed the most toward the advancement of sanitary engineering in accord with the ideals of ASSE International will be recipient of this award annually.


Fellow (FASSE) Award

The Fellow Award is a prestigious award presented to candidates who have been dues-paying members in good standing for a minimum of five years. The candidates must have served in an exemplary manner as an officer, regional director or committee person for a period of at least five years.

The number of members who can be elevated to Fellow status, per year, cannot exceed three members. The Awards Committee will use the above criteria in their selection of candidates and submit nominations to the ASSE Board.

All recipients of this award will be permitted to use the designation “FASSE” after their name.


Rand Ackroyd Award

The Rand Ackroyd Award is presented to an individual who has expressed a thorough knowledge and true dedication to the ASSE backflow program, or the backflow and associated industry by their efforts in protecting our drinking water through cross-connection control and education. Nominations shall be submitted by ASSE International members in good standing; however, the nominee is not required to be a member. Nominations must include a biography of nominee’s achievements in backflow and cross-connection control, and be submitted no later than Aug. 1 of the current year.


Patrick J. Higgins Award

The Patrick J. Higgins Award, for outstanding contributions in the field of plumbing codes and standards, was named for a member who contributed greatly to the development and acceptance of ASSE standards internationally. The award is given to a person who demonstrates both knowledge and support of voluntary, consensus standards and their adoption into code. Nominations shall be submitted by ASSE International members in good standing; however, the nominee is not required to be a member. Nominations shall include a biography of the nominee’s achievements in codes and standards. The Awards Committee will review nominations and recommend a candidate for approval to the ASSE Board.


Dewey R. Dedrick, Jr. Award

The Dewey R. Dedrick, Jr. Award was established in memory of the first President to die in office. The Awards Committee will propose to the ASSE Board for approval, a chapter that has shown the best all-around performance based on the categories of meetings, management, membership and promotion. Consideration will be given to the number of new members gained, the number of members lost, the number and type of meetings held during the year, financial responsibility, attendance at meetings, participation in local efforts affecting the industry, efficiency of communications between local and national affairs, promotion of ASSE International standards to local and state authorities, sales and promotions of ASSE International publications and other activities that develop enthusiasm and progress on the chapter level.


Salvatore J. Farruggia Award

The recipient is chosen by the outgoing international president and is presented to a person that has contributed to the success of that president's term.

Most New Members Award

Presented to the chapter that recruited the most new members between Sept. 1 and Aug. 31 of the current year.

Best Chapter Website

Presented to the chapter with the most outstanding website.

Best Chapter Newsletter

Presented to the chapter with the most outstanding newsletter.